Skip to content

A Change Of Signs

May 17, 2011

Before you get too used to arrivals in your Inbox on Tuesday mornings with the subject line beginning with “Ex-Joy Project:….” Or “That Ex-Joy Thing: ….” etc., I want to finally put this matter to rest, and with your help.

Ever since untethering myself from the “Joy Project” title several weeks ago, I’ve been freed up to be my full-spectrum self. Before this, I always felt I had to justify my writing by tying it to some lesson about joyful living. And I’ve been flattered and gratified that you seem to want to hear what I have to say even without the promise (often unfulfilled) of learning something about how to lead a more joyful life.

So now you can, if you like, have a say in re-naming this blog once and for all. Yes I know I’ve asked for feedback before, but this time I’m committed to deciding, so next week I’ll return with both a full post, and a new title.

Of the names that follow, you’ll notice that some refer to the night. Most of you don’t know that the reason you’re receiving weekly email blasts from me stamped with times like “5:37 am” or “6:26 am” is because I’ve spent the entire night at the keyboard. Although tonight I’m finishing early, I generally come home from the city and a day’s work; eat dinner at about 10 or 11, and then sit down to write. When I’m done I then sleep till about noon or so. That’s just the way it’s evolved, and I do my best work after that time you’re not supposed to feed Gremlins.

So please sift through these 14 titles, and let me know which you like the most…and least!

Thanks for your help, and here they are!

 

Inside Out                                  

The Fertile Void

From Here On Out          

Waking At Midnight

Are We There Yet?                

Inner Vision                                        

Out of My Own Way

Nocturnal Emissions

Taking My Time

Tuesdays With Charley

The Charley Project

Soundtrack Of My Life

Private Practices                               

While You Were Sleeping                                

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    May 17, 2011 8:05 am

    I like Inside Out the best by far.

  2. Roy permalink
    May 17, 2011 11:35 am

    I don’t like any of them. What about: One man’s journey.

  3. May 17, 2011 11:48 am

    Waking at Midnight–did you know that real Kabbalists wake up every night at Midnight to say the MIdnight prayer…it’s a very mystical time…I like this one the best.

    Tuesdays with Charley is another trap: pretty soon we’ll be getting posts from you on Thursday, about how you feel trapped by having to post every Tuesday….

  4. Roy Alexander permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:25 pm

    I like “The Charley Project” the best because it has your name in it and I like “Nocturnal Emissions” the least. “The 99th Monkey” was so right on about the Tuesday thing.

  5. Diana Slattery permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:03 pm

    From Here On Out best

    Nocturnal Emissions least

    Also like Inside Out

  6. Rich permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:24 pm

    The title I like best wasn’t on your list but was in the body of your blog: “My full-spectrum self”. I like the idea of a title which conveys what the blog will be about. And isn’t your full-spectrum self what you’re exploring now?

    Runner-ups: “Waking at Midnight” (as it conveys your process) and “Are We There Yet?”, because it conveys a sense of incompleteness/completeness which represents a paradox which you discuss in much of your writing (and to which I can relate).

  7. Daniel Wininger permalink
    May 17, 2011 5:25 pm

    Still, my favorite is From Here On Out. It’s original and it sets a frank tone.

  8. May 18, 2011 1:32 am

    Nocturnal Emissions hit me.
    Or,The Charley project….

  9. Daniel Wininger permalink
    May 18, 2011 2:39 am

    A Peace of my Mind?

  10. Dave Abramowitz permalink
    May 18, 2011 5:35 am

    Private Practices and Nocturnal Emissions sounsa as if you’re lost in your own world and are busy ejaculating

    The Fertile Void sounds like existential bullshit to me

    How ’bout Now Miaow or Mewsings in honor of your cat?

    I like Waking At Midnight or, even better. The Cat Wakes At Midnight Tuesdays With Charley appeals because we all so look forward to your post and regularly hanging out with you It has an everyman friendliness about it

  11. Dave Abramowitz permalink
    May 18, 2011 3:45 pm

    Sorry, I couldn’t sleep from thinking too much

    From Here On Out sounds like a father trying, perhaps, futilely to lay down the law, as in “From here on out, things are going to change around here . . .”

    Are We There Yet sounds like Waiting For Godot

    Inside Out sounds original, as if you’d bare your soul, too, but that’s what you sometimes do try to do, so that’s cool

    How ’bout Life In Its Larger Dimensions And Little Dementias
    Or just Life … or even Just Life …

    Or Cabbages, Two For A Shilling or Homage To My Wife And The Cat … or, if ya wanna go with something a little Thurberesque, how ’bout Sparring With The Old Kangaroo

  12. murray permalink
    May 31, 2011 1:37 am

    I like The Fertile Void.
    A beautiful, enticing and rich garden needs fertile ground filled with the best manure as well as
    continual pruning and nurturing.
    The Void is there for you to fill as you choose.
    Please continue to explore the garden of your dreams.

Leave a Reply

