Skip to content

Goodbye and Hello (Plus An Announcement)

January 1, 2013

Goodbye, 2012. You’ve been one hell, and heaven, of a year.

For me and mine, not a good year – a great year! So much so that there’s something important I’m about to change.

For the world, it was not so great a year. But not so bad either.

The world got hit with wars and rumors of wars, and strife the world over, although a major war in Gaza was apparently averted. But change and turmoil, both social and economic, persist.

Here at home we had an election that fell the right way, but it was touch and go there for a while. We also suffered a terrible hurricane and one too many horrible shootings. And we somehow survived at least one Rapture and one End-Of-The-World.

At the same time, my own personal life has been overflowing with blessings, however. Our move, our financial picture, our vacations in Aruba and of course Europe, my creative life (which you observe here), Shelley’s health, starting some new friendships and repairing some old ones, and all of this turning out so well!

My partnership with God continues to reap great rewards for me, and empowers me to help others in whatever way I do. I’m clear that when I say how blessed I am, I know from Whence it comes.

Which leads me to the one thing that’s been nudging at me the whole year  —  a persistent restlessness for a new and exciting creative adventure.  My therapist suggested I not march off to a new campaign before I fully acknowledge and celebrate my recent victories. I followed his suggestion, and now I’m ripe with two big ideas distilled from about a year’s worth of thinking.

What I’m prepared to say here is that one is a book, and one is a Documentary.

The book will be my way of not holding back any longer.

The Doc, as I envision it now, will simply be a series of interviews with men, and that’s all I can say about it right now.

Which brings me to a little announcement: To garner both the time and the creative juice to do these projects, something’s got to give, and that means starting today, Waking At Midnight will be going bi-monthly (meaning twice a month).

I love writing this blog, and find it very therapeutic, partially because it’s a good way to keep in touch with you…at least in one direction.  I thought I ran out of things to say over six months ago, but somehow I’ve kept coming up with (what I at least have thought to be) worthy topics to explore. I tend like most of us, I believe, to think in terms of scarcity and limits. But the more I open up, the more there is that wants to come through.  My inner well seems to be bottomless.

But I’m also feeling the need to head out in new directions.

I hope you’ll stay for the ride.

Finally, let me say, Hello 2013! I tremble for the earth and her inhabitants; but I continue to thrive and celebrate being alive during these painful and amazing times!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanne permalink
    January 1, 2013 2:49 pm

    And let us all say AMEN. Thanks, Charley, for the inspirations. Suzanne

  2. Laurie Yankowitzhttps://charleywininger.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/mi-corazon/#comment-form-load-service:Twitter permalink
    January 1, 2013 3:40 pm

    I’ll miss your blogs on a more regular basis, Charley, but of course applaud your pursuit of new ventures and have compete respect for re-allocating energies and creative resources. Here’s to artful living in 2013!

  3. murray sadofsky permalink
    January 21, 2013 8:38 pm

    I’m so glad to hear you will boadening your writing. Over the last year, it has become more fluid, relaxed, open and meaningful. New Directions. Great idea. I too need to finds a new purpose, direction and thrill to living. Your blog will keep me on track, Thanks.

Leave a Reply

